2015 Madison Leadership Awards Organization of the Year: LGBT of Walworth County

MSN LA 2015 Walworth

Each year in Madison, Fair Wisconsin gathers members of the LGBT community, allies, activists and policy makers to recognize those who have made significant contributions to the advancement of LGBT equality in Wisconsin.

The 2015 Madison Leadership Awards Organization of the Year is LGBT of Walworth County.

Fair Wisconsin is proud to have known LGBT of Walworth County since its earliest days, and has watched it grow from a website into a grassroots nonprofit organization offering advice, information and support to school counselors, local counseling centers, parents, and individuals in Walworth County and the surrounding area. LGBT of Walworth County just launched its first support group for teens and young adults, and collaborates with other area organizations, including the Ruby Project (Rock County), the Southeastern Wisconsin LGBT Center (Racine/Kenosha), and the United States Transgender Advocacy (Northern Illinois).

LGBT of Walworth County can be seen widely throughout the community in summer pride parades, holiday festivals, information tables at community events and movie nights, and organized the first Trans* Day of Remembrance vigil in the county.  LGBT of Walworth County staff has been invited to speak at colleges, churches and more, including George Williams College of Aurora University, University of Wisconsin – Whitewater, three Mid-State Tech College Campuses, the Wisconsin School Counselor Association’s annual conference, and the Antioch, IL school district.

The Fair Wisconsin Madison Leadership Awards Brunch is one of our annual signature events supporting Fair Wisconsin Education Fund. Join Fair Wisconsin Education Fund as we honor leaders and activists who stand up for fairness and advance equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender Wisconsinites.

Saturday, May 16th, 2015
Monona Terrace
11:00 am – 1:00 pm
Individual tickets: $75


Emcee: Congressman Mark Pocan

Award Recipients:
Tammy Baldwin Statewide Impact Award – ACLU of Wisconsin
Activist of the Year – Sheltreese McCoy
Organization of the Year – LGBT of Walworth County
Community Advocate of the Year – Vered Meltzer